SNHU Instructional Support Services

How to enable and create Break Out Rooms in Ring Central Meeting

Updated

Go to the RingCentral homepage (https://www.ringcentral.com/)

Or click on this link to access RingCentral Online website

Click on the "Login" button on the menu bar of the homepage

The drop down menu will give you two options. Select "Admin Portal"

The RingCentral "Sign-In" launch Pad will pop-up, click on the "Signal Sign-On" button

RingCentral Sign-In Launch Pad

You may receive a second prompt to confirm your @snhu.edu email address

RingCentral Confirm Email Text Box
The Admin dashboard will display. Click on "Settings"
Go to "Mettings" tab
Scroll down and look for the Breakout room "In Meeting (Advanced)" section
Enable and turn on the toggle for Breakout room

You will now be able to create separate smaller room. Continue reviewing this document for additional tips and details on how you can "Create" your Breakout Rooms.

How Breakout Rooms work when enabled

When enabled in the account, Hosts can click Breakout Rooms on the Meetings Dashboard during a meeting. See the following to learn how Breakout Rooms work for Host or Participants. A Host can create up to 50 Breakout Rooms. After the Host opens a Breakout Room, Participants in that breakout room will enter a new meeting session. 

How to create Breakout Rooms

After starting an instant or scheduled meeting, click Breakout Rooms. Select the number of rooms to create, then select how Participants should be assigned to the rooms (Automatically or Manually). Selecting Automatically will automatically list Participants to the Room/s. Selecting Manually will let you assign the rooms to Participants. Click Create Rooms.

How to assign Participants to Breakout Rooms

Participants can be rearranged after automatically or manually assigning them to rooms. If you selected to Manually create a Breakout Room, click Assign, then check the Participants to add to the Breakout Room. 

  • Participants who are not assigned to breakout sessions will remain in the main meeting when the rooms are started.
  • They will be listed under Unassigned. Hover on the Participant's name, then click Assign To
How to Rename or Delete Breakout Rooms

Breakout Rooms can be renamed or deleted. Deleting all Breakout Rooms will let you recreate a Breakout Room again.

How to Move Participants to a Different Breakout Room

Hover on a Participant, then click Move to or Exchange.

• Move to - lets you select a room to move the participant to.

• Exchange - allows you to select a participant in another room to swap the selected participant with

How to Add Another Breakout Room
Caution: If you select "Recreate All Rooms" Recreating a Breakout Room deletes the existing ones and creates new ones. All existing rooms will be replaced*
Recreate All Rooms and  Recreating a Breakout Room
Make sure to only select "Recreate" to Add a Room
How to Open All Rooms

Click Open All Rooms to see Participants who have not yet joined a Breakout Room.

Open All Rooms
How to Join Selected Breakout Room

Click Join to join a selected Breakout Room.

Join Selected Breakout Room
How to Broadcast a message to all Participants

Click Broadcast a message to all to send a message to all Participants.

Broadcast a message to all Participants
How to Close All Rooms

When you click Close All Rooms, the Participants will be given 60 seconds to leave their respective Breakout Rooms.

Previous Article How to download and install RingCentral Meetings from the App Store (Apple Devices)
Next Article How to enable and create Polling for RingCentral Meetings